Broken toe, but it doesn't matter

Hello world,

this is Prague. Actually, I'm Norwegian, but I live in Prague (yes, Czech rep), and I've been running barefoot for a couple of months. Actually (again), 3 weeks I ran a couple of minutes every morning, before the kids woke up, then stopped for a couple of weeks because of growing totfp (top of the foot pain, right?), and then I ran one 3 km in the forest/park, and it felt wonderful. Three days later I ran even longer, but then I kicked a root, rather violently, poor root, you might say, but unlike me it appeared unhurt. I broke my big toe and needed stitches and now I'm hobbling to kindergarten and back while all the other parents say 1) what happened? 2) well, you asked for it, running barefoot like that.

And still I can't wait to get back to the very same track, back to BF running, back to that feeling of flying which I never even felt the slightest twinge of while running in shoes.

Often being the victim of some kind of hubris (sounds better than "not knowing my limits"), my plans now are Prague Marathon in May, and after that a trail ultra somewhere. Preferable one completely without roots.

So this is me.

Woo..I can really relate to

Woo..I can really relate to you right now. I broke, fractured, and tore open my left pinkie toe 2 weeks ago. I was playing soccer on turf and kicked the hard ground at the end of a nice session.

And I was getting so good too. I just remember having a cloudy head that day and ended up losing my focus for a split second..too much thinking I guess. That combinded with in-grown weakened pinkie toes, and hard turf. Oh how I love those soft grass fields..so much more fun to play on.

So I hope you get well soon, and back to doing what nature intended you to do.

Nisto:Welcome!  I'm glad to

Nisto: