Tweaking my form....observations (hamstring vs. hip flexors)

Mattlock

Barefooters
Aug 1, 2010
Well I did post this same message at the "other" barefoot forum but I just wanted to get as much feedback as possible.

I've been running BF now for about 9 months with much success. I've gotten up to 15 miles BF at an 8:45 pace. I have noticed now that I am getting really sore hip flexors during my long runs to the point that I am starting to change my form somewhat (based feedback and reading more...POSE etc) I think that I need more hamstring usage and less hip flexors when running...

My last two runs have been more focused on using the hamstrings to lift my feet up and here are my observations thus far..

1) My feet seem to come up higher off the ground than before. Not a lot but more to the point that...

2) I land with more force than before..again still light but not as light.

3) I do still touch with my entire foot, ie heel tap

4) My calves are more sore than before. I did 5 miles today so we'll see how sore I am tomorrow)

5) It is definitely easier to lean forward and use gravity which improves speed with no additional effort...

6) It is a little more difficult to keep the same form going down hill...atleast BF.....due to significant speed increase...maybe easier with a minimal shoe

I am sure as I continue, I will get that right balance of hamstring/hip flexor usage but either ways it seems in the short run either I will have 1) sore hip flexors if I dont change my form or 2)sore calves until I build them up.

Again just my observations but I can definitely tell a difference in each "style"..

Anyone have any thoughts/feedback? Anyone have any similar experiences?

I do plan on getting some video of each method and posting for feedback.

thanks

Matt

Mattlock, I was trying to