Teaching my first class

devilnuts

Barefooters
Feb 24, 2011
On Monday I get to teach my first large lecture class. I've taught smaller groups before for exam review sessions of up to about 25 students. I've also done office hours with smaller groups of 1 - 5 students. So this will be my first time giving a large lecture class with 175 students. Those poor, poor kids. hahaha.

I have had a few ask me why I always go barefoot. I also have had a couple mention that they've seen me running about town. I have noticed a few other students on campus (not necessarily in my classes) going barefoot lately. I guess they just needed to see someone else doing it first...hahaha.

On the bright side (and to relieve your nerves) out of 175 in a big lecture hall setting, only about 25 are ACTUALLY paying attention to you; so it really isn't that big of a jump:D

I teach 21 3rd graders every day. It's not exactly the same, but day one (this is my first year) was nerve wracking! Good luck!

Reactions: Bare Lee
Good luck, Dev!

Actually, Lomad, we have pretty good attention in the class. I would say maybe 25 out of the 175 don't pay attention. The rest pretty much do...so that will be good. Of course, I still think it is funny when they approach me about not wearing shoes or slippers. Anyway, the class should be pretty easy. The other TA and I have to hold sessions next semester where we will be teaching, so this gives us some practice before then. Usually they don't have first year TAs teaching classes, but we are special. LOL. I just don't think they were expecting a barefoot TA when they selected me for this position...lol. And until I am told differently, I will continue to be the barefoot TA. LOL.

Reactions: Lomad