Random Babbling

jldeleon

Barefooters
Apr 9, 2011
Oregon
I may not have ended up where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.
-Douglas Adams

When I was young I wanted to be a writer, then an astronomer, then an actress. As I grew older, I wanted to by a psychologist. I wanted to earn my doctorate in psychology, as a matter of fact. I wanted to specialize in relationship psychology. So when I went to college, psychology was my declared major. It stayed my major for one year, until I barely got a C on my first basic psychology class. Then I freaked out and decided I wasn’t smart enough to major in psychology. So I changed my degree to Communications. I got an Interdisciplinary Studies degree to make sure I had all of my bases covered. After I got my degree, I had plans to become an Intercultural Communications consultant, so that people traveling would have a better understanding of how communication differed per culture and could have some tools on how to better interact with their colleagues. But then I realized I had no business sense and would never be able to successfully create my own business. During all of this I worked primarily in manufacturing work, followed by administrative assistant work – I hated both. And after I graduated, I then had a Bachelor’s Degree and I was still working at jobs I hated. I started looking at all the copious amounts of volunteer work I had done over the years and realized that working with children was a prominent theme. I decided to go back to school to get a 2 year certificate degree (of which I only had to complete 1 year) as an Instructional Assistant for Special Needs Children. Then I worked for AmeriCorps for a year. I loved that job! Then I started working as an instructional assistant for a number of years, which I also loved. When the economy started to tank, I switched angles and became a caregiver for the elderly for a number of years. I also loved that. But, then I decided that I was tir