New Member From Western Colorado

Ukerunner

Barefooters
Aug 16, 2013
Western Colorado
Hello everyone,

I've been running now for about 2 1/2 years. I have been interested in the idea of Barefoot Running since I started running, but just started slowly trying it out this February. I studied Physical Anthropology in college, so the idea that our feet are built for running unshod was not new to me when I read "Born To Run". I bought a pair of Fivefingers last summer and used them more for walking, only occasionally attempting short runs. But I liked it!

I don't know if I'll ever be a full-time barefooter, but I want to at least use it as a tool for better form. I've been lucky with my running so far in that I haven't really had any injuries or other problems (although this week my right heel is hurting, I think from a 14 mile trail run I did a week ago). For the past six months or so, I've been trying not to do back to back runs in the same shoes (or lack thereof), because I don't want my feet to do the same things all the time. I mix up my road shoes, trail shoes, minimalist shoes, barefoot, as well as road and trail runs (not sure I'll be up to Western Colorado trails barefoot though... lots of cactus!). My boss does trail ultramarathons, and has been encouraging me to do more trail running, which I really enjoy.

I've probably increased my barefoot mileage too quickly, I suppose... The first time, in February, I did 3 blocks at the end of a longer run, then went right out 10 minutes later and did another 4 blocks. The next time, I did a half mile. Then a couple of 1 mile runs, then 2 and three. Just this week, I've done a 3.55 mile, a 2.59 mile, and a 1 mile run. I'm having fun, but don't want to hurt myself!

I'm looking forward to picking up some tips, and (even though it seems unlikely) possibly meeting other barefooters in my area. I'm about 5 1/2 hrs from Denver, on the other side of the mountains, so I won't be holding my breath!