I did it ! - My first trail run

I have been running BF exclusively on asphalt/concrete for the last 6 months and really liked it but after reading so much about the beauty of the BFR trails I finally decided to give a trail run a shot.

I picked an old forest road, mostly muddy in the current rainy weather witch stretches of sharp gravel and rock. I put my brand new VFF in backpack just in case. It was cold (35F) and wet so it took me some time to warm up my feet and then I felt quite comfortable. I was constantly scanning the road avoiding "the big stuff", didn't mind "the small stuff". I ran for 40 minutes (4.4 miles) and turned back. I was trying relaxing the feet and the soft landing as much as I could fighting the pain from stepping on the rocks. I was able to run back for 20 more minutes than gave up and put VFF on and finished the last 20 minutes.

Total was 8.8 miles in 1 hour 25 minutes and my feet were burning. After checking I found about 4 small bruises from the sharp rocks (all in the soft arch areas) but that was it. I felt great overall.

Now I am really looking forward to my next concrete run because that is going to be such a piece of cake after this :smile:

But trail running is a new challenge for me which I like so I will try the same trail after a week hoping to run it more relaxed.

A couple of pictures from the trail:

Nice job.  Forest Park?Looks

Nice job. Forest Park?

Looks like you chose some relatively difficult surfaces with that gravel road (especially the 3rd picture). Sometimes actual trails (as opposed to fire roads) are a lot softer, even springy, because there is a lot more leaf litter and a lot less gravel.

Man, bf trail running is

Man, bf trail running is the bomb, that's all I do here in N.E. Tn. I am hooked on trail running. I also run on a gravel trail, the one in my avatar. It is like getting a foot massage while I run, love it. Love the trail pics!

stomper wrote:Nice job. 

stomper said: