Barefoot running form: video. Something's still not right.

swoggis

Barefooters
Nov 23, 2010
NJ
Cross-posting from that 'other' forum. I can see that the video has been watched 54 times now, but nobody is commenting. Possibly none of the viewers thought they were 'experienced' enough??

I'm coming back from a stress fracture and my PT asked if I could record a video of my running gait. The fracture has healed, but I seem to still have trigger points and a lot of residual tension in all the muscles of my left lower leg. I've been running BF since March 2010, but this is the first time I've seen myself on video: I've already spotted some things I want to fix that I didn't realize I was doing.

1. I seem to be overstriding even though I feel like I'm landing under my center of gravity and I can see some extra bounce in my stride as a result of it. Will try to increase my cadence and see if that takes care of this.

2. There's definitely asymmetry in my landings. The right lands more under my body, but the toes are pointed more outwards. My left (which is where I had a fibular stress fracture last year) is landing straighter but seems to pronate more. Not sure how to fix this but I wonder if this is part of why the left leg seems to be taking more than its share of damage.

Figured I'd throw it out there for the experienced BFers on this forum to let me know what else might need fixing. Thanks for any feedback!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKTZu0FXJ4Q

I looked at your video, and I

I looked at your video, and I have to say... I'm not a good judge of what is bad form, since bad form is really a feeling. I probably don't look like the perfect barefoot runner. I'm not graceful. But I'm not getting injured, so I must be doing something right.

Now, if I see good form, a free flowing, beautiful form, I can tell it's good form. Have you seen Dr. Mark Cucuzella's video posted in a different thread here? You might get some ideas there.

Increasing your cadence