Alex Found a New Home!

alexsbrown

Barefooters
Oct 10, 2010
I am so excited to find this on-line community -- I hope this becomes a new "home" for me. If I am new to barefoot running, but have been running and doing Tai Chi for years, and barefoot running feels so natural. Hopefully I can start helping newcomers soon.

I have very high arches and was told to stop running in high school after suffering from stress fractures. I was told I might be able to run a few miles a day after I recovered, but I would never again be able to do the 10-mile training sessions I had worked up to.

I have been running off and on for years, trying to find a way to run that does not put too much stress on my arches and knees. When I could not run, I did Tai Chi. I found it was a good way to recover from foot and knee pain. Tai Chi's mindful movements helped me find ways to move pain free.

I just read "Born to Run" and was initially upset with the book. I wanted some instruction on how to get started! I kept reading it, and felt inspired to go out and try it, but I was waiting for the "how to" section.

As I finished the book, I realized that I already had my instruction. I just needed to figure out a way to do just the best stuff that both my running coach and my Tai Chi instructors had been trying to teach me. I started changing my stride in my running shoes, and was able to run with much less foot and knee tension. It just felt good.

After finishing the book, I decided to just give a barefoot run a try. I saw YouTube videos of Barefoot Ted running in city streets, and I just had to know what barefoot running on asphalt felt like. I could not even imagine! Too weird.