what up fellow barefooters!

kmeiners11

Barefooters
Mar 21, 2024
Hello from Cleveland, OH!

My name is Kenzie Meiners (22) and I have always loved being barefoot since I was a little kid. Shoes were never my thing. I never found joy in running and could barely run a mile until about 2 years ago when I switched my mindset. Just the thought of running a marathon (26.2 miles) seemed horrendous and impossible, so I decided to sign up for one. I love facing my fears and proving my brain wrong. We are capable of so much more than what we tell ourselves!

I started training in socks and would consistently run around the track at my university's RecPlex. Yes, I would get many looks and stares but I didn't mind. It actually would motivate me. Once the snow melted I was itching to get outdoors, the track became too similar to a stale hamster wheel as I ramped up my mileage. After a few barefoot runs, I decided to buy "Skinners" Comfort 2.0 footwear online. I would describe these minimalistic "shoes" as socks with a thin rubber bottom. Highly recommend. Even though my heart was set on running completely barefoot, I guess I would say I caved due to the fear my peers & family instilled in me of stepping on something sharp, like glass. However, I'm no longer a newbie barefoot runner and I've discovered that I possess a tremendous tool to avoid perilous obstacles - my eyes! All I have to do is watch where I'm going.