What is causing these blisters?

SSRed2k2

Barefooters
Jan 9, 2012
Hello all
I have been attempting to BF run for about 10 months now. I am experiencing some problems getting settled into it fully.​
I had a OATS procedure done to my ankle a few years ago. This is a cartilage transplant on the talar dome in the ankle. After 8 surgeries I only have about 2-6 deg dorsiflextion (pulling toes back with knee locked)​
When I run in Merrell Trail Gloves or New Balance Minimus Roads. I do not ever have any pain in my joints or muscles (had pain in joints with motion control shoes) and have achieved some of the fastest times I have ever turned. But I develop very bad blisters on the bottom of my big toe and on the inside of the ball of my foot right before the arch.​
I run primarily in the New Balance MR10 (Minimus Road) because I dont get the forefoot blisters as fast. I have never run completely barefoot because I am in the military. Maybe sometime I will try it on my own time.
I guess what I really need to know is what is causing the blisters? Is the lack of mobility causing the blisters or am I overstriding? Or am I just not cut out for running barefoot? I do overpronate and wore Brooks Adrenaline and Nike Equalons type shoes before my injury. The surgeons have all said I would never run again but that alone made me more deterimined to run. I also have to run because I am in the military so not running is not an option.​
As for as big toe dorsiflexion it is completely normal. The only issue I have is ankle dorsiflexion. Plantar flexion is normal.​
I see alot of the barefoot footage and it looks as though the knee is bent and is well over the toes. I can face a wall and touch the wall with my knee but my toes can only be at max about 2-3' away from the wall.
Thanks for the help in advance!​
D​
87bc525f-995a-4d83-adbf-abefe36df57b.Medium.jpg
dc5ebc27-1d47-48bf-bc3d-d43a06745558.Medium.jpg
f83a4043-6a3d-42ea-84be-644d4716a19e.Medium.jpg