The Things Kids Say....

clawhammer72

Barefooters
Aug 5, 2012
Fullerton, CA
I'm a teacher, and I alternated riding my bicycle and running to school during the week.

On my way home this afternoon, as I passed a mom and her kids walking home from school, a little girl called out, "Where's your bike?"
She was maybe 7.
"It's at home," I said.
"Why?" she asked.
"Today I'm running home," I said.
"That's not running," she said. "That's not even jogging. That's like walking,"

Sigh......given my pace, she wasn't that far from the truth.:D

Some years back, I was out riding with a couple of friends, one of which had streamers on her handlebars (she's an overgrown child). We pull up to an intersection to stop for a light and a kid (maybe 7 or so) on the corner tells her: "Everybody is different, but you." The sheer philosophical implications of that still creates vapor lock in my mind.

I wonder what happens to us that makes us stop doing that? Awareness? Social pressure?

Not running related but ...

I had a friend who was at the grocery store with his 3 year old daughter. There was a lady in line ahead of them who was ... um, very well endowed, and wearing a very tight shirt that showed off that fact. His daughter quite loudy and clearly told her, "You need a bigger shirt, your shirt's too small!" My friend changed lines with much embarrassment. :oops:

My little just-turned-three year old is a poster child for this thread. The other day at the counter of my local bakery, she looked at the two young girls serving and said to me "Which one is skinnier than the other one?". One was clearly carrying a little more weight than the other, but not what I'd call overweight. I couldn't really explain to her why that isn't a good thing to say that, so I just hoped nobody heard her. :)