The holy grail of minimalist dress/casual shoes - VIVO Oak review!

The Holy Grail of minimalist dress/business-casual shoes, for me, would have more toe room, more ventilation, shorter drying time and a narrower back end, than what any of the Vivobarefoot shoes provide.

Haha! Nyah, I guess they are not quite perfect, but they are pretty darn near it. Drying time and ventilation are really a non-factor for me because I'm a teacher and rarely make it to the outdoors during my work day (sadly). I really don't see how you can possibly pack any more toe room into a shoe, though. This sucker is W I D E. Lots of horizontal and vertical space for toe splay - more than any other shoe I own, actually. A narrower heel would have been an improvement, but that's a small niggle for me.

Haha! Nyah, I guess they are not quite perfect, but they are pretty darn near it. Drying time and ventilation are really a non-factor for me because I'm a teacher and rarely make it to the outdoors during my work day (sadly).
Ventilation and drying time are important to me because even the act of walking makes feet sweat. If the shoe has a leather upper, the moisture gets absorbed by the leather and, like cotton, takes a long time to dry. Festering foot sweat is, to say the least, very unhygienic. Compound that with the fact that dress shoes are the most likely kind to be worn all day without a break. Therefore my "holy grail" dress shoe would have upper panels made of some kind of felted animal fiber (wool, alpaca, etc) rather than leather/suede. As long as the fibers are all one color (i.e. not heathered), it can look as classy as leather.

I really don't see how you can possibly pack any more toe room into a shoe, though. This sucker is W I D E. Lots of horizontal and vertical space for toe splay - more than any other shoe I own, actually. A narrower heel would have been an improvement, but that's a small niggle for me.