Teetering on the edge

deviantrunner

Chapter Presidents
Apr 3, 2010
Holly Springs, NC
I have been running barefoot for about 9 months now. I transitioned from shoes using the cold-turkey methodology. That was a bit challenging, but I worked up gradually and completed my first half-marathon ever on Sept. 5th.

My question is... Why do I always feel like I am teetering on the edge of not being able to run barefoot?

This question probably required some explaination. It always seems like there is something bothering me. Most days it is my (mild) morton's toe condition which seems to make my 2nd metatarsal head sensitive on/off. Other days it is my calves not loosening up after a run for 2-3 days. And recently, it feels like my hip joints aches whenever I begin to run. When I was in shoes... I could run everyday without a problem.

I have to say that I am McLovin' barefoot running and don't want to stop... however my wife is constantly questioning my decision by throwing my constant complaining in my face. (didn't realize I was doing that). She says... "is it worth it? " "You spend all this time running and then you complain that you hurt" (didn't realize I was making sound that bad).

Anyhow... I guess I feel like I am teetering on the edge. It is too late to go back to shoes. My feet have grown disproportionate to an average shoe so almost nothing is comfortable on my feet anymore.

Maybe I am just needing to ramble this off my chest. Thanks for reading. I am taking a couple weeks off running to see if my body just needs to catch up to me. :|

Steve

We're just getting old

We're just getting old man...

I feel achy too, but I felt worse with shoes. Are you pushing yourself harder or faster than you would with shoes? I like it when I am sore from a run, it makes me feel like I pushed a little harder and challenged myself.

Sorry not much help here. I feel for you, if that matters any?

It matters. 

It matters. Thanks.