sickness and the paleo diet

barefoot kean

Barefooters
Jun 3, 2010
Anchorage
Ive been eating paleo for about 8 months now. It has not been overly strict but i do what i can for a college kid. Anyhow i have become rather sick lately (im thinking a sinus infection, so nothing too serious) and im wondering the sickness rates of others who eat paleo? Also, is there anything to do to speed up the getting better process?

lots of water, vitamins from

lots of water, vitamins from a natural source like wheatgrass and orange juice, and go for a long run 1 hour minimum. Soon you will be right as rain.

Interesting.  I've been

Interesting. I've been wondering the same thing. I've also been Primal/Paleo for 8 months. In that time I've had to treat 3 different infections (nothing serious). I don't think I've had to take antibiotics more than twice in the previous 10 years.

At this point I don't have enough data to consider it anything more than coincidence. My husband switched to Primal/Paleo at the same time and he's been healthy the entire time. It will be interesting to see if there's a common trend. Every other marker of my health has improved and I feel great, so I'm hopful that it's just a coincidence.

Peace,

Karen

cleansings like that are

cleansings like that are normal as the body gets healthy. are you still eating dairy?

i find using a netti pot helps my sinus as well as lots of tea with lemon.

Mike

I've been doing the Paleo

I've been doing the Paleo diet for about a year now...haven't been sick at all during that time but actually haven't been sick but one time in since I started barefoot running in 2005.

Now my kids have a long history of sinus infections and common colds and I can positively say using a Netti Pot like migangelo said above has mostly stopped their sinus troubles with very very few colds now...the Netti pot is worth a try.

I don't know anything about