Persistent Foot pain, outside edge.

LavaRunner

Chapter Presidents
Jun 4, 2010
TJ asked me to move this post to the Docs Forum. So here it is with a little more detail.First answer to the question, Have you seen a doc? No. I have found no local foot Doctors that have any tollerance to Barefoot Running. My experience is that same as others. Get orthotics, wear supporting shoes etc...also for the record, I am not a "Over Pronator and if anything, I lean to the side of supination. I have been running Barefoot or minimalist for three years now. I took the step and never looked back. But there is a problem. I constantly have foot pain. Right now and for the past 6 months it is pain in the outsides of my feet around the base of the 5th metatarsal. Here is a picture I found that desctribes the location:http://socalrunnergirl.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/06/05/footlig1.jpg Resting, there is no pain. Touching the area I get a burning sensation like the area is sunburned badly. The pain does not go away completely unless I am off the foot. When off the foot it is fine other than occational electric shock feelings that happen usually in the middle of the night. It doesn't ache. A weeks rest, most I was able to give yielded no relief. As soon as I hit the trail, the pain was almost immediatly there sucking any "Run Smiley" I might have out and spitting it on the trail. In exactly 4 weeks I run my first 50 miler. Here is my dilemma. Sometimes a nice supporting shoe seems to ease the pain. I haven't tried running in padded shoes but I'll wear them for a few days after a long run to take the load off the tendon or whatever is hurting. It helps a little although anything touching the area is painful. Also, ever since I started running BF or Minimalist, my feet no longer fit in shoes well and if I run in even my somewhat minimal Inov-8's I get heal blisters and they are always too narrow. I have found very few shoes that I can run in that don't cdreate heel blisters. Yes I