One more of the kind

thomaslp

Barefooters
Apr 13, 2011
Hi from Denmark,

I started running in VFF 10 days ago. I have started slowly 1K every second day. I have been running for 2 years and last year I completed 5 ½ marathons. Unfortunately I have suffered from sciatica pain since November. So now I am giving barefoot running a change. I really like the idea.

Before my sciatica problems appeared I bought a number for the Berlin Marathon. It is in late September. Is it to optimistic to run this race in my VFF? Anyone with experience.

Best regards

Thomas Lund

I think you can run the full

I think you can run the full in VFFs by then, you may even be able to do it barefoot by then. Some of us progress quicker than others. It depends on several factors though: Have you lived mostly barefoot before becoming a runner? Do you shun shoes at all possible times? How often do you plan to train for this event and at what intensity? If you get injured from now until then, that could set you back.

Just know that if your sciatic nerve problems still exist while running in the VFFs, then you should give true barefoot running a try to see if the sciatica goes away.

Welcome and good luck!

Hi,thank you for your

Hi,

thank you for your answer. It was helpfull. One thing I noticed is that many books and articles write that you should only run 500 meters a day when beginning BF running. But after reading in this forum and other places on the internet I have figured out that running 2-3 km is ok as long as your body feels ok with it.

What distances did you run when you went BF?

/Thomas

I started at 5min, roughly

I started at 5min, roughly 1/2 mile.

BTW, those are some awesome hobbit feet you got there! :)

My first barefoot run was a