Newbie in sweltering NC

Hi. I'm Michele & I am totally new to barefoot running. I ran track and cross-country in high school waaaaay back in the 80's. I loved running but sadly I had persistent shin splints & even a stress fracture. Every practice & competition meant extensive taping of my feet and legs. Ever since then, each time I've tried to resume running, the ol' shin pain would just come back again in less than a week. Now that I am in my 40's I find I get some knee pain too when I try to run. (((sigh))) I walk a good deal and I do workouts that involve jumping rope.

I am really hoping that barefoot running might be the answer for me. Currently I soaking up information and I am spending as much time as possible barefoot. I am also doing any exercises I can find that encourage flexibility and strength in my feet. I have not even tried to run yet. I am being as patient as I can possibly be.

It seems that most information I find is geared towards runners who are making the switch. However, I consider myself a non-runner since I've not been able to run consistently for years. I wonder if this changes anything? I know my stride is ALL wrong for barefoot running. I was definitely brought up in the era of wearing heavily cushioned shoes that compensated and taught to run with the heel-toe rolling motion. I am trying to wipe all that old info from my mind and muscle memory and go at it with a fresh and clean perspective. I really want to make this work!

Any advice or recommending reading is greatly appreciated!

You are approaching it correctly, and could probably start running 30 seconds on paved roads per day to help your adaptation process along.
Oh, and WELCOME!

Reactions: happysongbird
Welcome!

I am not sure what everyone else's opinions here are, but you should look into the "Couch to 5k" programs. My only recommendation when doing those is to of course listen to your body and only advance to the next "level" when you.feel you are ready.