Newbie from Illinois

Perry Weatherford

Barefooters
Dec 18, 2012
Found this site while researching some information on Barefoot running. I tried it last year without doing any research and just ran... Not smart. I'm just starting out and just focussing on form but man it just feels great. Not worried about distance (for now), just want to get a good feel for it. I'm a type I diabetic, and have a pair of Vibram Five-Finger for kayaking, so I need to wear them for some foot protection. Wanted to sign up to keep up the motivation to keep running and to lose about 10 pounds.

The pace and the rhythm just feel so natural, and if you really think about, just makes so much more sense than the heel/ toe way I've always run.

Are there any Barefoot Runner Society bumperstickers around? That would be pretty cool.

Peace, Perry

I gotta get to getting us some stickers. Maybe next year early, I hope. Welcome!

Welcome Perry!

Reactions: Perry Weatherford
Welcome aboard, Perry. Glad to have you with us. Just be careful with the VFFs up front, as they can make you feel capable of doing more than you safely can. I'm unfortunately the poster boy for that statement (stress-fractured 3rd left metatarsal head - down for 10 weeks). Slow and steady builds the best minimalist runner. Enjoy!

Phil, I think you are right about the Vibrams, I think I pushed a bit too hard and found myself hitting the 5K mark - it just felt so good...now my right foot is giving me some pain. I've cut back to about a mile every other day and keeping the pace pretty slow. Feels like a really tight muscle wrapped around my heel - never felt anything like it before. It feels much better when I stretch it out - even before I get out of bed in the morning. I'm hopeful this will work it's self out if I back off, and build some foot strength. The left foot feels fine.