Michigan Newbie

richards

Barefooters
Aug 27, 2011
Ok so this is my second attempt at adding my introduction
puzzled.png

I have been running in minimalist shoes for about 6 yrs now, the first pair I bought were a pair of Adidas and I noticed that they drastically improved my run time so when it came time to replace them I couldn't find them anymore not even on a discontinued adidas search, So then after searching and searching for shoes by weight, I found a pair of FeelMax and loved them I wore them for awhile then I started to loose toenails (nasty) and then found VFF. I kept my FeelMax because I'm in the military and of course can wear the VFF for PT tests, and with the FeelMax nobody notices. Just this week I ditched my VFF because my 11yr wanted to go for a run with me and she didn't have shoes to wear so I gave her my VFF and said I would go barefoot, I wanted to try it anyways and it seemed like a good time to start. Well I haven't put my shoes on since, and I ran an 8K yesterday barefoot. which brings me to finding this site. So there I was.....standing in a uh ...a line..I look over to my right and here come this guy, NO SHOES either!! He introduces himself as Longboard, and I just gave him this blank look, and he says "your not on BRS are you?" "uh no whats that" I said. Wow to my amazement there is a group out there for barefoot runners! I know I can be clueless at times. Everything I have learned about minimalist running are barefoot running I have learned on my own by thank God google. So Longboard, his wife and I spent much of the prerace chatting and I learned a lot. After my run I found him again and we hung out he of course told me about Barefoot Runners Society, I couldn't wait to join. And here I am... I am in the Michigan National Guard, married with an 11, and 7 yr old girls and a 2yr old boy....and sorry this intro is sooo long. I cant wait to get to know you all and probably run with some of you! I obviously didn't make it to the run in Grand