McRitchie Run, Singapore

Jaqa

Barefooters
Sep 9, 2015
Hi Guys!
We have May Day here, so a public holiday. Which does not affect me as I am studying for my exams this week. But I did need to get out into nature to clear the head a bit.

Decided to have my first run with VFF's. I have not run with any shoes in the last month and maybe 3 shod runs in the last 3 months. But I'm going to need shoes if I want to do an ultra in a year's time or so.

First up, the weather report. Quite a nice day this morning. Definitely not as humid as yesterday morning. There was a particular kind of mistiness yesterday morning till 10 which was just the evaporation from a big storm on Saturday. Took one look and said Nah! You just sweat and feel crap!

Note the real feel temperature. You kinda get used to that and the heavy air. Every day is the same here. ( Lowest temperature ever recorded is 19C! )

Attachments

• Screenshot 2016-05-02 06.41.29.png
    Screenshot 2016-05-02 06.41.29.png
    144.3 KB · Views: 2
DSC_1126.JPG
You see plenty monitor lizards here- up to 3m. Close relative of a Komodo Dragon which live just some islands away. But these are harmless.

DSC_1129.JPG
Golf course to the side but luckily only a short bit. If you can play golf here, you have some serious numbers in your bank account

DSC_1130.JPG
Main water inlet.
I'm studying for my 2nd degree in Economics. The aim is becoming a Water Economist. Love all things water related, and the Singapore water reservoirs have a fascination because even with 3 meters of rain, this country is water stressed. They have to import water from Malaysia. These reservoirs are vital. And the older central ones are really beautifull with clean water and old architecture.

DSC_1134.JPG
Out of the 10km loop about 8km is this filled in crushed stone. Not too pleasant but I'm going still do this barefoot.

DSC_1136.JPG
Just tunnels of jungle veg. Sweat Fest!!

DSC_1139.JPG
Back to lake scenery..

DSC_1140.JPG

DSC_1145.JPG