Just a short hello!

Lara_Hastings

Barefooters
Jun 9, 2011
Well I'm new here, might as well introduce myself.

I'm from Finland, 20 something years old. And I'm new to barefoot running :) Though I'm not new to walking barefoot, last summer I did not wear any shoes at all, maybe a few times on occassions were it would have been offensive to not wear any...

This summer I plan to do the same, so the soles of my feet are already hardy and are looking good. I plan to buy a pair of vibrams so that I can run even on roads that have too much gravel or other types of stuff I would not want to have sticking unto my feet.

Yeah, what else..., I should mention that I'm not an athlete, just a regular sunday jogger. But now that I have read about barefoot running I have stumbled across a very interesting field of information, like pose-running and all that.

I have never put any thought about HOW I run until now, so it is quite exciting to actually spend some time on improving my running technique, which also gives me more motivation to run, though I have had some problems with the small amounts of barefoot running, but I think I will be able to fix these problems - getting tired calfs at the moment.

I could also mention that I'm vegan and my absolute favorite activity is going to rave parties and spending time in nature - or both!

Welcome, Lara!  You'll do

Welcome, Lara! You'll do fine.

Hi Lara,I don't think many

Hi Lara,

I don't think many of us consider how to run. In a majority of the running magazines and books all you will find is pages and pages of how to train for a marathon or half marathon or 10km, they all go off the assumption that everyone can just run.

It's like going off the same assumption that everyone can play tennis or everyone can play golf but no one sees it that way.