Howdy from Colorado Springs

runnaked

Barefooters
May 12, 2011
Not new to running, but new to minimalist running and loving it. Currently alternating between the Merrill Trail Glove and the NB Minimus Road. Had been led to believe I needed a stability show after suffering from ITB several years ago in a pair of Air Skylons, but in retrospect, I think those shoes caused the problem. Since then, I'd been running in Mizuno shoes (Alchemy and Nexus) with no problems.

Not as fast as I once was (20:16 5K PR at age 40, but that was almost 20 years ago), but I'm as good once as I ever was. LOL!

Ah, Toby Keith.Welcome!

Ah, Toby Keith.

Welcome!

Same Toby Keith story here. 

Same Toby Keith story here. I'm an old soldier who's also relearning running. I'm enjoying it a lot more now, and I've gotten my time down to around 8:00/mile for 2-3 miles, 8:15/mile for 5-6. I don't know that I'll ever get back to my 6:15 miles, but I'm fine with that now that I can run sustainably without hurting and without doing further lasting damage to my joints. I started minimalist with VFFs, but have moved to fully barefoot and - to my surprise - love it. I still like my VFFs for walking and hiking rough terrain, but it just feels better to me to run barefoot. That said, it took me about 4 months of steadily working through a deliberate transition period to get here after 25 years of shod running. I hope your experience is as good, and I hope you'll give truly barefoot a try; it really helps you get your form imbedded into your muscle memory, so it stays with you even in shoes. Welcome to the crew.

You've got me beat by a

You've got me beat by a longshot, but I run for me now, not for speed. Working on rebuilding my aerobic base right now. The transition to minimalist shoes has been easy for me so far, perhaps because I've always been a midfoot striker. Looking to go bare when it gets a little warmer here and I find a route without broken glass.

I like the way you put that.