Houston Texas???

ibill555

Barefooters
Nov 15, 2010
I've been running barefoot for a couple of months now and love it! (I've even been hiking barefoot on some nearby trails.) I've always disliked shoes and spend as much time barefoot as possible but just recently discovered how much better my running has become without shoes. I'm taking it slow and enjoying the new experience. It does feel, however, that I am the only one in a city of 6 million people that likes to run barefoot!

HELP!! I NEED A RUNNING PARTNER!!

Hope you all had a Happy Thanksgiving!

Bill

Welcome, Bill!  Glad you're

Welcome, Bill! Glad you're here.

Same here. I swear I'm the

Same here. I swear I'm the only barefoot runner in the Sacramento Valley. I'm sure most of them are in San Francisco or LA. Its a bit lonely being the only one.

Bill - welcome to the crew. 

Bill - welcome to the crew. And I can assure you, that there are probably 2 of you in the greater Houston area. There may not be any more, but at least you're probably not truly alone. And there are all of your brethren and sistren scattered around, gathering together only here. As Davy Crockett always said, "Make sure you're right, then go ahead." There's no value in being both like everyone else and wrong at the same time.

Hi Bill -I'm starting

Hi Bill -

I'm starting barefoot running starting tomorrow.

I ran the Texas Marathon yesterday in Kingwood, my first marathon, and saw at least 2 runners in VFFs, one in water shoes, and another in something else that looked very minimalist. One lady I talked to wore shoes for part of the marathon, and VFFs for another part. It was a very wooded path, all concrete/asphalt, lots of sticks and dried gumballs on the path, lots of cracks. I also saw at least 2 bloody knees, and one lady had somehow scraped the side of her face. Probably tripping on a crack, which I nearly did as well.