Hello, please help get me started

rev20one

Barefooters
Jul 4, 2011
Hi everyone, /sites/all/modules/smileys/packs/Roving/lol.png

so I have been reading, and there is TOO much out there. I dont know where to start. I would like to transition to shoes that will help me run/walk as I was intended to but would like some suggestions.

Here is some info on me...

I have been wearing the Asics 2100 line for about 3 years now. I have a very wide foot, I wear 4E in the Asics. I use to wear New Balance 4E but found Asics a bit more comfortable. I also have a high arch. I luckily have not had foot injuries, only extremely rare "tightness" in what seems to be the area in my arch (4 times a year maybe lasting a couple days). I play roller hockey and the boot itself is very flat with minimal arch support and I think they make my feet stronger.

So I want to know which shoe I should use to transition as I dont want to jump from super cushioned ASICS to something like the EVO overnight.

I was thinking a skate shoe with a flat sole, like Laced from Emerica, or any type of slip on. (ok for my high arch?)

I would eventually like to get to wearing something like the Merrell Glove line as my everyday shoes. (hopefully they run wide).

Also, what is the basic thinking in walking/running in these shoes, should I be thinking of landing flat footed (heel and ball at same time?)

thanks for your help everyone /sites/all/modules/smileys/packs/Roving/smile.png

I know most of us would just

I know most of us would just say jump in the pool barefoot, so that's out of the way.

Yes, there is a lot of information, check out The Library.. the tab is on the top on the right side. Lots of links to good sites to check out. Barefoot Jason does You Tube videos, and Barefoot Ken Bob has a site dedicated to helping beginners, but I have found it a little bit of work to get around in. Has dead links and such, but diamonds everywhere for you.