Hello from the Netherlands

Daniel Planerunner

Barefooters
Apr 19, 2011
Hello All,

I wish I would have found the BRS sooner! I'm a 38 year old American living in the Netherlands, where I think I am the only minimalist-shoe runner around. I have lived here nearly nine months and have not seen one other.

I have been running in VFFs since Feb 2010, and exclusively since June 7, 2010. On June 6 my wife and I ran our first half-marathon in my normal this-is-what-they-sold-me-at-the-running-store shoes. On June 7 I needed ibuprofen to get out of bed because my knees, hips, and ankles all hurt so bad. I have logged many miles over the past year in KSOs and Bikilas without an injury (knock on wood) and without pain killers. The initial interest in minimalist running was from Born to Run, of course, and as the weather turns nice here I am going to set out truly barefoot.

After becoming less of a newb around here, I may start the Netherlands national chapter. I hope someone beats me to it, but if I hang out awhile and no Netherlands chapter pops up, I will volunteer to be a chapter rep for NL. In addition, if anyone is in the Eindhoven area, I am training to show my VFF enthusiasm at the 2011 Eindhoven Marathon. Let's get together at the start and run with pride.

Thanks for reading my piece and I look forward to hanging out around here.

Daniel

Welcome, Daniel.  Get a few

Welcome, Daniel. Get a few people in the Netherlands to want to join with you, and we'll get a BRS chapter started for you, no problem.

Allllrighty then!  I'll get a

Allllrighty then! I'll get a post started in another forum area as a place to start. And I'll have to run more to find some Dutch barefooters. Surely they are out there...

Deal.

Deal.

I thought I saw another Dutch