Having a dilemma

LavaRunner

Chapter Presidents
Jun 4, 2010
First off, Sorry I haven't been around much. Life is busy, been training a lot on Bike and feet and business takes most the rest of my time.

Well, I said I had a dilemma. Here it is.

I have been running Barefoot or minimalist for three years now. I took the step and never looked back. But there is a problem. I constantly have foot pain in the outsides of my feet around the base of the 5th metatarsal. Here is a picture I found that desctribes the location

http://socalrunnergirl.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2007/06/05/footlig1.jpg

The pain does not go away completely unless I am off the foot. When off the foot it is fine other than occational electric shock feelings that happen usually in the middle of the night. It doesn't ache but if I touch it it us ultra sensitive almost like a burn. A weeks rest, most I was able to give yielded no relief. As soon as I hit the trail, the pain was almost immediatly there sucking any "Run Smiley" I might have out and spitting it on the trail.

In exactly 4 weeks I run my first 50 miler. Here is my dilemma. Sometimes a nice supporting shoe seems to ease the pain. I haven't ried running in padded shoes but I'll wear them for a few days after a long run to take the load off the tendon or whatever is hurting. Ever since I started running BF or Minimalist, my feet no longer fit in shoes well and if I run in even my somewhat minimal Inov-8's I get heal blisters and they are always too narrow,

So I am sort of damned if I do and damned if I don't. Running Completely Barefoot certainly isn't in the cards for this run and probably would only aggrevate the foot, Running in my inov8's will givve me heel listers in 5 miles and running in my Merrill TG's (which seem to be the only trail shoe that fits) causes foot pain.

Not sure if I am really asking anything. Maybe just venting. I am very frustrated right now.