CootCraig from Pueblo, CO. USA (new runner)

CootCraig

Barefooters
May 11, 2011
Greetings,

I'm 58 years old and would like to start running for enjoyment and health. I recently learned of the book "Born to Run" and found the Google group: Minimalist Runner - Barefoot, Sandals, Shoes

This is the first time I've thought that running might be something to enjoy.

Today I built a pair of Invisible Shoes huaraches and ran 3 blocks out and 3 blocks back. A week ago I started about 6 blocks a day barefoot. I will get Barefoot Ted's book shortly

In summary, I'm a beginner who hopes to build up slowly and avoid the dreaded "Too much too soon".

Welcome, Craig! A lot of us

Welcome, Craig! A lot of us here were inspired by Born to Run, so you're in good company (if I do say so myself! :p)!

Just one tip for starting out: Try to run purely bf as much as possible in the beginning. I know the huaraches are a lot of fun, but there's really nothing like listening to your own skin to know when to stop and avoid TMTS! Maybe leave the huaraches for when you're out and about in public, at least for the first couple months.

Also, don't think that your lack of running experience is a bad thing! In this case, it's actually what may save you from a lot of injuries that "runners" who switch to bf often experience in the beginning. You get to start off learning to enjoy the sport, rather that being constantly nagged by that little voice saying, You used to be faster. You used to run further. That voice is the cause of so many TMTS woes...

So anyway, have fun with this new and awesome sport! Glad you're here! :)

Barfuß Chelsea

Barfuß Chelsea said:
Welcome, Craig! A lot of us here were inspired by Born to Run, so you're in good company (if I do say so myself! :p)!