Barefoot Walker from Iowa has joined

Barefoot Walker Is now also a runner!

I just started this delightful activity on 07/31, and progress has been slow since before then I never had run at all.

I’m estimating that I get in ten to twenty minutes of (BF) running a day, but never more than twelve at once. Usually I do two sessions of about eight.

I hope to do a 5K probably next year as it seems that I won’t be ready in time for any this one.

Are there any other snowfooters here? I have been walking barefoot in winter for many years but this will be my first one trying to run and I wondered if anybody had any advice on this as far as the lungs are concerned.

I’m looking forward to meeting other BFRs here and elsewhere.

Barefoot is best!

Dave:That sounds like a

Dave:

That sounds like a wise, healthy and fully appropriate early transition to me. TMTS (too much too soon) is the classic bane of newly converted BFRers. It earned me a stress fracture in my left forefoot. Your body is providing you with the best feedback you can get, and you are listening to it. Keep it up, and you'll build both time and distance as you do. Welcome to the crew. Enjoy!

I must say... the barefoot on

I must say... the barefoot on snow thing doesn't hold much interest to me. I see the value in barefoot running... I don't see the value of barefoot running on snow... I do see the value of staying warm and cozy when there's snow on the ground though. :)

Welcome to the club. I

Welcome to the club.

I started barefoot running last April so I am not a barefoot expert, but I've been running since 1998 so on that I feel I can speak with some credibility.