Barefoot:Chewing Coca Leaves::Vibrams:Smoking Crack

Barefoot Jim

Barefooters
Sep 25, 2011
So I've been barefooting for about 5 months now, after running shod for years. Started off with vibrams, got educated, went barefoot. It wasnt until i was truly barefooting that i really started getting that floaty springy trippy feeling that i now seem to be addicted to. Then when it started getting colder i'd put on the vibrams once in a while and ran FASTER and FURTHER. to be fair, i'd run faster and further barefoot, because it felt so good...i was starting to time myself again (something i seemed to care about shod, but forgot about barefoot) and was ending up a 5 or 6 k run with a 7 to 7.5 minute mile, and starting to run 5 or 6 times a week about 25 to 20 miles a week. then about a month ago, i did simething moderately bad to my calf, took a week off and started up slowly barefoot only. feeling good again for a couple of weeks.

then this weekend, i was gliding along, and i landed on a big sharp rock, about a cm or two towards my heel below the lateral ball of my foot. hurt like hell. but i so needed the run, i kept going for another 2 miles, felt barely ok. the next morning noticed a nice bruise about the size of a half dollar on the ball of my foot, and my foot and both shins were pretty sore.

took two days off, and this morning, i was dying for a run, but worried about the sore so, so i went out in my vibrams, just to stay loose and get some air....

in a few minutes i was gliding along, feeling great, speeding up. i was trying to concentrate on keeping my stride short and my cadence high, but i really start to feel buzzed and have a hard time not letting out the throttle and doing some distance. at about 2 miles i just stopped, for no other reason than i thought i would regret it tomorrow, and i have some time off for the holiday weekend and want to enjoy some of it running.

have i lost my mind ? i feel like i'm a vibram/crackhead.

and the coca leaves? i love