What should I get for my FIRST minimalist footwear?

C. Beth Run.

Barefooters
Jul 6, 2010
I've been running for eight months. Currently I'm training to do a half marathon in fall or winter.

I just decided to try barefoot running. I'm taking it slowly and have gotten out there twice this week to run for short periods of time on my bare feet. I'm loving it so far--I can't wait until my muscles and soles are ready for longer barefoot runs!

I'm learning with totally bare feet, but I do want to get some sort of minimalist footwear to use for some of my runs, once I get more used to going barefoot.

Right now I'm primarily considering either buying a pair of VFFs or making my own huaraches with Vibram soles. I'm leaning towards making the huaraches, then getting VFFs when the weather gets a little cooler.

But I'm certainly open to trying something else! I'd like to keep the cost at the cost of VFFs or lower.

So, what should I start with? Sell me on your favorite!

$6 water shoes from the

$6 water shoes from the Dollar Store! Poor man's Vibrams! They are good because they are cheap, but also not as "molded" as the Vibrams which irritated me (expensive mistake - I gave mine away). You can see the kind of thing I am talking about in my Avatar.

A lot of people on this forum

A lot of people on this forum like huaraches. I personal loath them. What I don't like is that the sole material moves around on your foot while you're running, which makes them a little unwieldy to run in. I also find that the laces never seem to stay as tight as I tie them at the beginning of the run, so they become more loose and irritating as the run goes on. This might be a product of the construction of my huaraches, but I've heard similar things from others as well.