want to keep barefoot/minimalist, but having challenges

Hello, Doctors!

Let me apologize in advance for a lengthy post. I would really like to stay barefoot, and my body appears to disagree with me. I don't know how much info you need, so I'm just going to start typing.

I'm a 33 year old female, standing 5'8” and about 170lbs, I have been as high as (at least) 240, and as low as 159 in my adult life. Right now I fluctuate between 178ish and 165ish. I am a massage therapist and have been teaching Yoga for about 2 years. I spend a lot of time unshod, if I can help it.
I have decent arches, my feet seem to be wider now that I'm shod less often. I often have a heavy step, my heels hit hard and sometimes the balls of my feet drag a bit before the heel makes contact.

In the past 10 years or so, I have developed knee pain. It started with grinding (without pain) when I went up stairs, and progressed to pain in the lateral knees, down into tibialis anterior. It's also ITB pain and up into the greater trochanter area.

I am a creature of ease (that sounds so much nicer than lazy). I don't like exercise unless it's fun, or going somewhere. Swimming, dancing, hiking, bellydancing classes, that sort of thing. I was drawn to barefoot/minimalist living about 2 years ago, because it seemed like a way to make running fun, and I had heard about how it helps one run without knee pain. I am not a runner, other than some long jump in High School track junior year. I read Jason Robillard's The Barefoot Running Book, and did some of the exercises, and then started walking/running in preparation for the Color Run 5k. I may not have done enough of the preparatory exercises in the book. I cannot do a full squat with heels down unless I'm holding onto something in front of me. I wear Vibrams when walking/really slowly running. It seems that riding my bike makes the ITBs worse. I live in a small town, so I like to ride to work and running errands, if possible.