How quick do you loss fitness?

Barefoot Gentile

Barefooters
Apr 5, 2010
Fairfield, CT
So I am going on day 17 with no running, and slowly healing. I have a few races coming up in November, and just wondering how quick do you loss fitness with no activity? I have been running for about 18 years, and this is the most I have not ran in those 18 years. Maybe this a sign for me to chill a bit.

Anyways, the numbers are all over the board on this subject, but just interesting what you all have to say. I talked with a veteran marathon runner who takes 2 months off a year without running, and he says he comes back stronger than ever.

Well, Gentile, I just had to

Well, Gentile, I just had to take two months off because off my calf injury. I seem to be a little bit off my normal pace, but really I am very surprised at how well I still do. I thought for sure I would have to start all the way back at the beginning. My cardio is still right close to where I was, it's my leg muscles that have weakened the most.

I can't remember for sure, but I think one of the "rules" is you don't lose much if anything during the first two weeks of not running. After that they say you lose a lot pretty fast. I think it depends on the person really as I hate generalizing all of us as the same.

When I've taken 2-8 weeks off

When I've taken 2-8 weeks off running but did crosstraining, I really didn't lose anything other than mental power. Suddenly running for 3-5 hours sure felt a lot longer than it used to, but all my muscles were set. Maybe even better off from the building up of all the random supporting muscles that crosstraining helps with.