Hi from Boulder!

Sapphira

Barefooters
Feb 8, 2013
Hi everyone! New here, obviously and just looking around. Was looking for forums because I want to understand more about my choice to wear minimalist shoes (I'm not choosing 100% barefoot), and to try to get into running more. I've been jogging regularly for several months now with Merrel Pace glove... I found them by accident in the store and just can't go back to normal shoes. My feet are larger and more healthy, and I'm using them so much more naturally.

Welcome!

If you're comfortable wearing minshoes, then by all means continue doing so. A lot of us run barefoot, but many wear minshoes, and even die-hard barefoot runners sometimes choose minshoes in adverse/freezing weather.

Minshoe running isn't the same as barefoot running, and proficiency running in minshoes on hard surfaces doesn't usually translate to barefoot running, due to hard surfaces being much less forgiving of less than ideal form. With properly fitting shoes, barefoot runners usually can run fine in minshoes. However, one doesn't have to be barefoot to enjoy running.

Although I learned to run barefoot on my neighborhood roads, I'd say that I actually prefer minshoes if I run on hard surfaces. I do really enjoy running on dirt, grass, or sandy trails, and I definitely kick off the shoes for those runs. I think it only makes sense, as one takes off their shoes when going to the beach, as our feet were made to walk on natural surfaces! Sadly though, I have to drive a bit out of my way to get to natural trails.

Welcome!

Reactions: Sapphira
Welcome! There are a lot of knowledgeable, helpful folks here that are happy to share their thoughts.

I am a minimalist runner. I usually run in Luna Leadvilles.