First Milage report

Hi folks,

I'll have to do a conversion to the 'old' units of measurement as I've been living in Australia for 20 years now and everything is in kilometres.

I have been running barefoot now for about 13 months on and off, averaging around 20km per week. Some weeks I would be running 30km+ others less than 20km.

The majority of my running is along the beach in metropolitan Adelaide, but I always like to put in some running along the pavements as well, it's good to see how quickly you can change your form to cope with the changed surface.

So I estimate I would have covered around 800-900km in the period since I gave up the shoes, that would be around 500 miles.

I could not go back to wearing running shoes again but I do occasionally wear the Vibrams on the days when the temperature gets above 35C (pretty much from dec through feb) and I'm running on the road. The road temperature gets up to 50C and that is pretty tough on the feet.

My running blog is at http://minimalistrunning.blogspot.com/

Great website and it comforting to know that I am not crazy and there are other people out there that have found out the benefits of getting back to basics.

Neil

Welcome, Neil!  So glad

Welcome, Neil! So glad you're here.

A bit of a chilly weekend in

A bit of a chilly weekend in Adelaide, usually November temperatures are in the high 20's (Celsius) but this weekend we had rain and cool southerly winds.

I stayed off the beach today and ran along the River Torrens pathway and covered 8km. The pathway is nice and smooth in some places then rough in others.

My feet were a bit sore at the end, but are fine now, I'll give them a rest for a few days now, maybe just running on the beach.

At the moment I would say that I was faster when running in shoes, due to taking longer strides but I think barefoot running doesn't tire me out to the same extent and I definitely don't get shin pain any more.

Cheers

Neil

A week of up and down