Psychology of transitioning

Hey Jason, for once I

Hey Jason, for once I disagree a bit with something you've written. You make the transition sound so ... cool and rational.

And maybe (to continue the metaphor of the product adoption life cycle) it is, for the "early majority" types.

But to capture this experience for early adopters, I think you need to talk about the irrationality and/or desperation and/or excitement that plays into it. I know I had desperation (I was getting hurt), and irrationality ("evolution has already solved the problem" even though as a biologist I know that evolutionary solutions aren't always perfect), and excitement ("hey! it's working!"). These forces were a lot more powerful than my rational decision making process.

Also not in here is a sense of the power of the transformative moments I'm sure a lot of us have had. I wasn't getting that much, I could tell at some point, out of using BFR as an occasional training tool. Finally I just said, I'm going to do this 100% and see what happens. It was then I started having these amazing runs where I was totally in tune with my body and the trail. After that I could tell I wasn't going to go back to shoes much no matter what the "evidence" said.

Perhaps it's just your even-keeled way of expressing yourself which normally serves so well. But something about this barefoot running is more than just a technological solution that people get excited about... it's not an iPad, it's not Linux, it's a god d*mn full out spiritual experience. At least on the good days. ;)

Thanks for all your thought about this.

Great topic and nice write

Great topic and nice write up.