Hello from the wandering Canuck

Linus

Barefooters
Apr 22, 2011
So I figured it may be time to de-lurk a bit and introduce myself. My name is Linus. I am a Canuckian living in Los Angeles. I do not miss the cold and snow (mostly when I lived in Ottawa since Toronto never really got snow, even when the Army was called in). I've lived in the US (NYC and Los Angeles) for about 4 years now.

And I will admit it. I hate running. Absolutely abhor it. I love riding my bicycle, however, great distances. So why join here? Welp.

A friend of mine has been using running as a way to lose weight (an activity I need to resume doing). And she was using running as her main form of exercise. As much as I love bicycling (have I mentioned that already?), it's hard sometimes with my line of work (I'm a senior technical trainer for a very well known "scaring the crap out of Microsoft" virtualization company) as I tend to travel a lot (sometimes I may be stationary at home for a few months but often can be on the road for 3-4 weeks out of a month at a time.

So.. I thought, why not try running again. But I decided to investigate it more. At a mere 41 years of age, the ol' bod is creakin' and crackin' more than usual. Like many I decided to investigate shoes (HORRORS!) to wear while running, particularly with a cranky back and cranky knees (all those years stopping pucks, eh?). Someone had suggested these silly toed "shoes" (VFF) and I figured why not.

For the first time ever, I actually enjoyed running. How novel!