Hello from Fabulous Las Vegas

roberekson

Barefooters
Oct 28, 2010
Okay, so maybe it's not so fabulous when you actually live here, but it sounded good :).

I'm Rob and I'm a barefoot runner. This sounds like an AA meeting all of a sudden, doesn't it?

Anyway, here's a bit of my story. I used to run a lot in high school (I was on the soccer team), including a nightly 5-miler between my junior and senior year. At the beginning of each soccer season I'd get mild shin splints, but they'd always go away. Fast forward about 7 years, including 7 years of a desk job (I'm a web developer by trade), and I wanted to take up running again. I started running 2 to 3 miles and absolutely hated it the entire time, and ended up getting shin splints so bad I was forced to give up running completely. During this time, I paid about $300 for custom orthotics, had a shot of something (I forget the name, but it starts with a 'D') from my podiatrist to help with the pain, and went to a specialized running store, where I was videotaped running on a treadmill and sold some fancy "motion control" shoes for my overpronation problems. After buying the new shoes and orthotics, I actually got shin splints even worse than I'd ever had them!