Greetings from the North Atlantic

Eyvindur

Barefooters
Jun 28, 2011
Hey, I've been lurking for a while now, and love the forum. So an introduction might be in order.

I'm pretty new to running in general (just finished the C25K program a week or so ago). I fell in love with running pretty early on, but my knees didn't. I was browsing a bunch of different running sites, trying to figure out what I was doing wrong (I was already trying to do Chi running, but that didn't seem to work well enough), when I stumbled upon barefoot running, and things just clicked.

First of all, I've never liked shoes too much. My feet get hot and uncomfortable very fast, so I tend to take them off as much as I can. Also, I'm born and raised in Iceland, and we don't wear shoes indoors (except at work, but mostly it's fine to take them off - which I tend to do, although I do wear socks a lot). Add to this the fact that last winter I was getting an MA in Theatre Directing, and spent a lot of time playing games and running around barefoot, and my feet were already in excellent condition. I still started out somewhat slow, walking around and running in place, but I accelerated very fast. In about 3 weeks I've gone from that to running for 30 minutes at a time without any trouble at all (except for form issues when I go downhill - I keep stubbing the big toe on my left foot, tearing it open ... it happened for the third time this morning). I haven't experienced any pain in my feet at all, and although my knees still bother me, they feel better than they did when I was running shod (I'm getting them checked out, anyway, but I really don't want to stop running).