The mysterious case of TOFP and the missing metatarsal.

Lukeor

Barefooters
Feb 19, 2011
Hi…

At 7/8 weeks Im a newbie, but have been running in shoes/torture devices for years.

I saved my pennies and finally was able to get myself some VFF's at the end of December. After noticing that running barefoot at my old Dojo had nearly no impact on my knees.

It was the happy ending Hollywood dreams of…untill:

I tried to coax my feet to keep up with my legs. I had a few days of TOFP, but then it went away, and the next run I anihalated my left foot. It started out the whole of the 3rd metatarsal, and some pain in the 2nd. Since then I've been tiger balming/massaging and stretching it.

What was worrying me, was that on the top of my foot the 2nd metatarsal was really prominent (and tender) to the touch , but I have serious difficulty finding the 3rd metatarsal. I gave it 10 days to heal and had little pain, even after walking a few miles. So decided to bash out a few miles this morning, and in short, it was a stupid idea. I was smart enough to stop jogging when my the pain started just after mile 1. However, it now hurts to bare weight.

I went through a fair bit of pain in my right foot, while it started to settle, and my hammer toes started straightening (which they haven't done yet on my left) but it can't remember having such difficulty finding a metatarsal.

My guess is that I've dropped a metatarsal - or - that as someone with high arches, maybe my left foot needs more time to flatten laterally.

Has anyone else experienced this? Does anyone have any idea what it could be? Most importantly is it doctor o'clock? - because then I need to start saving…

Thanks,

Luke

Man, Luke! I've never heard

Man, Luke! I've never heard of not being able to feel your metty bone before. Are you saying you can't feel it at all? Do you suppose you have a stress fracture or fracture? Is there any swelling? Is there any bruising?