Rookie Poster - need advice

rickwhitelaw

Barefooters
Apr 27, 2011
Beryl Utah
I am a rookie poster and need your advice and patience.

I do not belong to any groups or organizations other than BRS. BRS has been the main source for my successful transition to BF running. I am very inexperienced with social media and have never posted anything on other sites.

After a few bad posts I have made, and receiving some backlash, I had to question why I am here. I came up with: to further educate myself and improve on BF running, share my experiences, and find some people that have some similar interests. Do I want to leave the site because of a few stupid comments that I made and getting some criticism? NO. I understand that this is a big group with lots of different opinions. I just don't want to be labeled because of a few strong opinions that I have. I am actually a very easy going guy and I am open to anything.

Here are a few questions I have about posting:

1. When should a post be in a forum or a blog?

2. How do I post mileage or goals without sounding boastful?

3. How do I recommend min-shoes without sounding brand specific?

4. How do I post about my injuries and setbacks without sounding like an idiot?

5. How do I post any nutritional advice without posting my history and what I have been through in every post?

6. How do I post any humor without sounding dry or sarcastic? I think that is what the smileys are for.

7. How I reply to a comment and get the box with the "so and so said:" in my post? Cut and Paste issue.

Again, sorry for offending anyone. I do realize that I need to "think before I type". I love this website and it has keep me educated, entertained, and motivated through these cold months.

Rick W.

I can't think of anything