Ideal running weight?

skedaddle

Barefooters
Sep 3, 2011
Is there a formula for working out your ideal running weight? I know there are B.M.I calculators available, but from what i have read they don’t take into account for the extra muscle weight of an active person.

I am 5ft 10in tall, male, 51years old and weigh 156 pounds.

I have been on a steady diet for the past two years, but have never had a target running weight in mind, i’m just not sure what the healthy numbers are for my above statistics.

Any advice would be great, it’s distance running that interests me, not sure if that needs to be factored into the equation. I think i’m close to where i should be but would like some conformation so i can go an celebrate with a big slice of chocolate cake (Insert Homer Simpson drool here). Thanks

Steve

Steve, I'm not a doctor,

Steve,

I'm not a doctor, but I have read quite a bit on the subject. BMI is not a reliable indicator of healthy weight especially for an active person who has a high muscle mass. Lot's of gymnasts for instance don't score so well in BMI. Measuring your fat percentage is a much more accurate measure and and you can do it with a cheap pare of calipers. I'm about the same height as you, 45 years old, and weigh a little more 160 lbs. My fat percentage is between 10% to 12% depending on how I measure it. Losing weight may not be a good idea if you are losing lean mass.

-Jim

BMI is an antiquated system

BMI is an antiquated system that is hugely inaccurate if you have any muscle to you. When I was in the Army I always had to get taped and calipered because I was to "heavy" for my height. Back then I had like 6-7% bodyfat but because of the BMI calculator it always said I was fat. Caliper is the best way to go imho.

Yeah BMI is really not a