Gravel, the unappreciated barefoot running surface

I ran the towpaths by the

I ran the towpaths by the Delaware near Princeton for my first 4 months of BFR, before getting a pair of Vibram Bikailas for my upcoming trail race. By the time I was finished getting used to the Vibrams and done with the race, my feet were deeply reverted to wimpy softness and took almost 2 weeks to get right with the towpaths' gravel/crushed stone/packed dirt surfaces. I've recently started back on the towpaths just to experience the joy of gravel. It's the best, I agree, to fine tune form. It's also just fine for keeping my mind right on the moment of running.

For anyone in south Jersey, I highly recommend the Delaware and Raritan Canal towpaths and on the PA side of the Delaware, I've found the Delaware River Towpath Park above Yardley to be lovely - it's the fine crushed redstone kind which is nicer than the crushed dolomitic limestone that's common across the river in NJ.

I am a newbie and still

I am a newbie and still "challenged" by gravel. I'm pretty comfortable going barefoot on pavement. Where I live (western MA), there are both asphalt and dirt roads, and the dirt roads are mostly hard-packed dirt with scattered gravel on top. To date, I've been switching to VFF's when I encounter this surface and switching back to barefoot when I regain the asphalt.

Are there some techniques for learning to run barefoot on this kind of surface? Just take off the shoes and go for it?

I feel like I could avoid some of the individual pieces of gravel, but then my head would be looking down the whole time and I wouldn't be able to enjoy the scenery...

I ran my newly discovered