Winter training for Spring Marathon

Barefoot Gentile

Barefooters
Apr 5, 2010
Fairfield, CT
Last winter I trained for my first marathon for a spring race which was in May, I ran the marathon in Vibrams. So I have the itch to run another marathon, which will be in May again. This time I will be running it barefoot. I have been running barefoot for the last 6 months consistantly, it's still very warm in the east coast here but soon that will change. I will continue to run barefoot as long as possible, but I know there will come a time when I need to put on footwear (vibrams or huaraches). So I figure I will still be running barefoot in November, and journey into december. December was cutoff period before i needed to put on Vibrams. So I figure I will only need some kind of footwear for 3 months.

Looking at my schedule my first 18 miler will be on March 14th, then my first 20 miler will be on Mar. 28th. I do have a second 20 miler which will be on April 4th, then it's a 3 week taper. I figure if I can get one 20 miler barefoot I will be good to go, or hopefully two. I know it still can get nasty in march.

I should mention I don't have access to a treadmill, which is a good thing!

Just wondering for the barefoot marathoners out there that like to run a spring marathon, but experience winter, how well did you adapt?

I'm pretty much in the same

I'm pretty much in the same boat, I'm hoping to run my first Marathon May 11. Last winter I was able to get most of my runs in barefoot except for a couple when there was snow/ice on the road. If you are able to run in the early evening I think you'll be surprised how mush you'll be able to do barefoot since the road will warm under the sun.

The hardest part for me is the lack of daylight, I'm counting on the days getting longer as spring comes around.

Ramzev:  We ARE in the same