What do you consider Ultra?

As the title says: What do you consider ultra? is it when it's more than a marathon?
What if it's a marathon on trails in the mountains? is that "just" marathon running?
is marathon distance ultra?

:D

I heard than anything just a bit over a marathon is considered to be an ultra, but then again I know nothing.:(

Looks such a great place to ran and it definetly is an ultra.
Are yoy doing it? I think NOT.

I'm fairly new to the Ultra scene but my definition is (and it is the same for marathons):

If I enter an official race and complete it, I have run an Ultra.

If I do my own run over 26.2 miles, then I run an Ultra Distance. I ran the Sedona Marathon with a 1 mile jog to the start line (full discloser, I walked the last 10 miles because of ITBS). I did not count this as an Ultra or Ultra distance even though the total was over 26.2. Last fall I ran 27 miles in mud, snow, technical trail, and big elevation gain. I did count this as a Ultra distance. Once in a while, I pat myself on the back for more extreme conditions.

Either way, I would consider myself an Ultra runner (even though most Ultras contain a large portion of hiking, walking, sitting in a chair at an aid station:), etc.), but I was hesitant to call myself that until I did an official Ultra.

Marathon or Ultra on the race you are considering? Since it has Marathon in the title, I would call the race a Marathon and you an Ultra runner after you complete it (or before, because I bet you are going to want to do an Ultra distance before the race), but no big deal either way, it looks like an incredible run.

Reactions: Line Kolbe and Sid
Technically anything more than marathon distance whether it be trails, road, easy or difficult. Took me a while to actually call myself an ultra runner and I still have a hard time admiting it to myself even though most of my races are 50ks and above.

Here's the official classification for all runs:

Micro = < 1 mi / 1 km
Mini = 1-3 mi / 1-5 km