Video Analysis

Discussion in 'Chapters' started by murls, Mar 10, 2013.

1. murls

murls Barefooters
    1. Australia

Hi everyone,

I finally got around to taking out my freestyle camera and filming myself running barefoot. Would appreciate some feedback as I am still very new to barefoot running.

2. BFwillie_g

BFwillie_g Barefooters
    1. New York
    2. Germany &...

You have to change the privacy settings. The default is 'private' if you're sending from your phone.

3. murls

murls Barefooters
    1. Australia

thanks I changed it to public. Hope that works.

BFwillie_g likes this.
  4. Neil_D

Neil_D Chapter Presidents
    1. Australia
    2. Presidents

Hi Murls,
    That looks pretty good to me. The only comment I can think would be to try to keep more bend in your leg at the landing. It looks like your lower leg swings forward and is only slightly bent when you make contact with the ground and this may put more pressure on your knee.

Cheers

Neil

5. DayRunner

DayRunner Barefooters
    1. Australia
    2. United Kingdom

Murls I think you need to run a bit faster... Your defiance of gravity however is amazing ;)

Seriously though it looks generally fine to my unqualified eye. Not sure if it's the slo-mo but there seems to be a bit of vertical movement (just watching the top of the head) that might be linked to Neil's comment about the straightness in the knee (less elastic stored energy in the flex means more of a "push off" is needed).

More to the point are you experiencing any issues/limitations you are trying to overcome?

6. BFwillie_g

BFwillie_g Barefooters
    1. New York
    2. Germany &...

I agree, there's quite a bit of vertical motion going on there.

Murls - write a bit more about your running experience, and also about the paces you're running in your vids. What kind of shoes have you worn in the past?

7. murls

murls Barefooters
    1. Australia