Vibrams or barefoot

gldmeier

Barefooters
Nov 3, 2010
I have been running in Vibrams for about 9 months now. I started in KSOs and recently switched to Bikila. I recently did a long run in my running shoes and experienced so much pain and difficulty it sealed th deal for me. I am sticking to the Vibrams.

I was wondering though what the difference is between running in VFFs or running actual barefoot. Is there a difference? If I am running well in Vibrams, is there a reason to go more extreme?

If you're happy I don't see a

If you're happy I don't see a need to change anything, but you should try running barefoot sometimes and see how much you enjoy it. You may get addicted.

Personally, I wish I could run properly in VFF, especially for the winter or at the gym. I'm still a beginner and if I put anything on my feet my form gets sloppy. And now I love the feeling of having fresh non sweaty feet all the time.

I don't think there should be any pressure to go more minimal, or no sense that barefoot runners are better than minimalists. Just try running short distances barefoot a couple of times and see what works better for you.

I see you are bi- oops, I

I see you are bi- oops, I mean barefoot-curious. We have a website for that. :)

If you are running well, not getting hurt, etc. then you have nothing compelling you to try BF. But it definitely maximizes the sensations of running, and the sensitivity of your body to conditions, and your involvement with the environment. It's quite intoxicating. Go easy on yourself when you try it... this forum has a "Library" and a "Barefoot Running 101" guide to help you get started.

I always say if it ain't