Vibram Spyridon LS

JosephTree

Barefooters
Sep 7, 2010
Near Valley Forge, PA
I don't know if someone else has written about these minimalist shoes farther down the Product Review list, but here's my brief, non-technical contribution.

I've been running in VFF Bikilas for 4 years or so, falling back on them for rough terrain or bad weather. My feet don't mind going back and forth between BF and VFF, though I have to admit that I am much happier barefoot when it doesn't hurt.

That said, I feel like I can offer some intelligent insight to the Spyridon. After 4 or 5 runs totaling more than 30 miles, mostly in snow or on mixed ice and macadam surfaces, I think that the shoes are about what I was hoping for. While they're just a bit heavier than the Bikila at 5.6 ounces each, they have a much more aggressive tread pattern. I can feel it bite especially when I run on snow over intermittent ice. I know my Biks are nearly useless if there is anything slippery on the ground and they require me to get forward momentum solely by getting a gravity assist as I lean forward. The Spyridons give me good, positive traction both up and downhill.

One warning which might not matter if you buy your shoes in a store. I wear a size 42 in Bikilas. I thought that a 42 is a 42 across the Vibram line, but the Spyridons are just a skosh tight across the toes, as if the extra density of the sole is reducing the area available for my feet by a couple of percent. It's not enough to make me hurt, just enough to tickle my awareness. If you try them on in a store, you might do well to just give that next size up a try, too.

The "LS" closed lacing system is fine. I don't really notice a difference between the LS feel and the Velcro strap of my Bikilas.

My pair of Spyridons is Black / Gray and I think they look pretty good. The other colours seem OK,
too.