VFFs and my unique right foot - say it ain't so!

Gkikas

Barefooters
Mar 23, 2011
Hi everyone, I'm new to barefoot running, and thus this forum as well. Been lurking a while and am thrilled at the character, depth of knowledge and family feel. I'll introduce myself further in the appropriate forum, but I needed to get some advice from you VFF wearers about what I think is going to be a problem for me.

My deformed right foot. Or, to be less critical of my beloved feet, "uniquely abled" right foot.

I bought a pair of KSOs, which I wore for an eighth of a mile test run because at the time I was freshly injured from shod running, had just stumbled upon BFR in general, and knew I had to have those weird shoes, if for no other reason than to piss my wife off.

I didn't wear them running but that once, and they sat unused because since then, because I've been running barefoot as prescribed by all of you. I'm not even really wanting to run in VFFs, but know I probably should have this skill. Maybe.

Anyway, I've been forcing myself to wear them here and there inside the house and the left foot feels great, but my right foot feels all kinds of wrong. I couldn't put my finger on it... the girl who sized me at Fit2Run was pretty knowledgable and I didn't really spent all THAT much time in them before spending the money and taking them home, so what gives? Have my feet changed that much in the three weeks I've been barefoot running, and barefoot around the house as much as possible? Could my feet have widened that quickly?

Nope, my right foot is different than my left. Check it out.

toes_splay.jpg

That red arrow is fake, btw.

toe_splay.jpg