TMTS - Plantar Faciitis

jouno53

Barefooters
Oct 13, 2011
Hello,

My name is Ryan and I would greatly appreciate your advice regarding my current predicament.

To give you some background – I have never been a runner, however, I have been doing Crossfit starting strength for about 4 months now, and after hearing about barefoot running, wanted to compliment my lifting with some natural running.

About 4 weeks ago I purchased a pair of Vibram Bikila LS shoes and some Merrel Barefoot Trail Gloves to wear on a daily basis. Being impatient and irresponsible, I jumped into running 30 minutes a day with my Vibrams, alternating days for about a week. My feet and calves were killing me, but I felt like I was going somewhere, and I loved it! However, 3 weeks ago (Sunday, September 25 to be exact), my right ankle started to get incredibly sore and inflamed. For about a week, I had a bad limp as I walked around on my sprained right ankle, and the bottom of my right foot also began to hurt. It has been 3 weeks now, like I said, and my ankle and Achilles tendon are in substantially better shape. However, I believe I have developed plantar faciitis on my right foot, as my arch towards the front of my foot, and occasionally near the heel will start to hurt. It has been about a week since I have definitely pinpointed my right foot pain as plantar faciitis, however, it is not incredibly terrible or incapacitating.

For the past week, every morning before I get up I stretch my right foot and massage it to prevent maximum damage from occurring when I get out of bed. Throughout the day, my right foot will have a dull pain, and I constantly stretch it.

I have had to forego any sort of squats or power lifts that use my feet, because I fear that I will continue to hurt my right foot. I have also ceased running for the time being.

What I am wondering is: