Tightened up

Okay, this is going to be a complete noob question, but since I haven't had this happen before I'll ask it at the risk of embarrassment.

I decided to go for my usual Friday morning exercise with my friend, but he ran late and I went on ahead figuring I'd get a quick one mile in while waiting. I thought I was warmed up enough, but a third of the way through the mile loop my left calf started to tighten up to where I could feel it while I ran. I tried to walk it loose, but as soon as I started back jogging it tightened up again almost immediately. I halted and decided to convince my friend we should just do frisbee golf.

What the heck happened? Did I not warm up enough? Could I have just kept going through? or is it more complicated?

John T.

Are you lacking electrolytes

Are you lacking electrolytes or salt in your diet? Were you hydrated enough?

That's the thing about that

That's the thing about that stuff.. you just never know, right? Guess I will make sure to focus on that today and maybe do something tomorrow. The 107 degrees we've had the last two days may well have sapped me more than normal. Ah, Summer!

John T.

Sounds like forcing the form

Sounds like forcing the form rather than relaxing. I use to do that on the treadmill. It was worse when I was reaching out in front of me rather than sitting down in my stance. Also make sure your heal it touching down and your ankles are "floppy" and relaxed. Let us know what you figure out.

-Jonny

Thanks TJ and Jonny!That

Thanks TJ and Jonny!